The Gem of Life Episode 77 and 78

I wrote most of these a while ago, but am only posting this now because I didn’t get enough time to finish up the posts with the pictures and captions yet. Yes, the series is officially over. I am so behind too, but maybe it’s just a sign that I don’t want it to be over yet? I must be crazy, seeing that I’ve survived 70-plus episodes only to not want to run the finishing lap.

So, to kick it off…

How can your heart not break?

Poor Sun Sun

The previous episode preview we saw Sun Sun bawling his heart out because bad bad Phillip the Old Man has taken him in his last-ditch, desperate attempt to get back at Martin, by taking his little one away. It would have been a cold-hearted, cruel one, but the fact that Martin is dead coupled with the fact that kidnapping Sun Sun is hardly business related shows that old Phillip is really going cuckoo.

Phillip feeding Sun Sun his last meal before...

Phillip feeding Sun Sun his last meal before...

...he does this

...he does this

It looks like Phillip is trying to drive a go-kart with one hand, but he’s really trying to push Sun Sun off onto the road. Evil, I tell you. But the fact that he bought some fries for Sun Sun before he tried doing it meant something. I mean, it’s not like he just did it in cold blood, he did think it over first. I dunno which possibility is scarier.

But Charlie (sans Angels) comes to the rescue!

But Charlie (sans Angels) comes to the rescue!

Nyeh?

Nyeh?

Yeah, that’s his new look of fury, which cracked me up so badly that I feel bad for doing it. Great acting, Chan Hung Lit! Anyway Charlie shows up out of nowhere, in classical Tvb style which I felt cheapened the story a little. I mean, it’s almost too convenient that the Ghost of Christmas Past just shows up and asks him why he’s doing all these. She is disappointed that he’d have to resort to hurting an innocent baby to get his revenge, all of which are sensible things to say, but I felt that it’d have been more powerful to have Phillip realise that on his own. I mean, Chan Hung Lit is such a great actor, he’d have no problems conveying the depth of emotions and conflict that his character is going through anyway.

So he and Charlie returns the baby to Terrence (because Jessica and her mansion is probably swarmed with security guys).

Jessica freaking out

But not before we see Jessica freaking out

Terrence is letting conscience (Constance) get the better of his business mind

Who, me? *flashes innocent look*

To give Terrence credit, he did tell Jessica that Sun Sun was sent to him anonymously. He then senses something wrong with Sun Sun because he won’t stop crying.

*cries*

*cries*

Terrence rushing to the hospital

Terrence rushing to the hospital

There were traffic problems on the way to the hospital, which resulted in Terrence grabbing Sun Sun and running all the way there instead. Aww. However…it was all too late.

Sun Sun’s death was probably one of the most anguishing parts of the two episodes. I don’t think it was well played out, but the fact that a young child died has to be sad. No matter that he died of some unknown allergic disease to fries, which I initially thought was coeliac disease. Coeliac disease doesn’t result in instant death if you take gluten-containing foods (I thought Sun Sun was allergic to gluten from what Jessica told Woh, but I could be wrong because I dunno those Canto terms for illnesses), it just makes you unwell, not die (not immediately anyway). Maybe Sun Sun was just allergic to starch or something like that and went into anaphylactic shock. I keep trying to rationalise his death, because it just seems so unlikely, so unexpected.

Terrence actually looks devastated, poor boy, he tried so hard

Terrence actually looks devastated, poor boy, he tried so hard

Following that, they showed how some characters dealt with Sun Sun’s death, how they mourned, while Herman’s (Jessica’s new underling after Norman) press statement from Jessica regarding Sun Sun’s passing was used as a voiceover – first was Terrence, then Sylvia, then Woh.

Terrence

Sylvia

Woh

Mummy dearest, Jessica too

Mummy dearest, Jessica too

RIP, Sun Sun

RIP, Sun Sun

This shot of him is so reminiscent of Martin's funeral. Like father, like son?

This shot of him is so reminiscent of Martin's funeral. Like father, like son?

Martin

Baby Sun Sun does have a *bit* of makeup on too. Hmm.

Poor Jessica, having to lose two of the people she loved most. Plus, Mummy doesn’t even remember her. =( I’d find every reason to jump off a building if I were her.

Is this not heartbreaking? Constance thinks so too

Is this not heartbreaking? Constance thinks so too

At times like these, even Constance can't bear to abandon Jessica

At times like these, even Constance can't bear to abandon Jessica

I have so much more to say about the two episodes because there are loads of other things happening in episode 78, but I feel so bad after watching episode 77, that watching episode 78 just seemed to be a continuation of that pain.

There is this heavy load in my heart, because I know that Sun Sun’s death probably just took away another part of Jessica that makes her human. She became such a hard, tough woman after Martin’s withdrawal that it’s just going to be worse after Sun Sun is gone, since the only reason she’s pulling through all these obstacles was for him. Now she’s all alone, I don’t know really what’ll happen to her, and she deserves so much better. It doesn’t help to improve the mood that they’ve been bringing back flashes from the past when Martin was still alive, it shows how much she misses Martin, and I never really believed that Jessica would let Martin die, even if he was going to divorce her.

Other important happenings are things like oh, Constance and Terrence getting back together. I didn’t know how that came along, because I was probably still paralysed from Sun Sun’s death. Since Derek’s incident, Terrence has let his conscience (Constance) control him, so he’s sort of driven to do good to the entire world to make up for his one sin, so that explains why he’d go all out to save Sun Sun too. Constance decides to give him another chance when she sees this I guess, coupled with all the Constance-counselling she’s got from Mr Suen etc. On Sylvia’s side, she’s in denial about Sun Sun’s death, and decides to distract herself with work. Calvin doesn’t give two hoots about it because he knows that’s her way of dealing with it, whereas Sunny thinks she should face it and bawl her heart out. Aww. Both of them throw hissy fits at each other about Sylvia, and Calvin shows his jealousy/anger at Sunny, partly because he thinks Sunny likes Sylvia. Oh, how wrong are you.

Oh I'm all for man-brawls

Oh I'm all for man-brawls to cap off a post

7 thoughts on “The Gem of Life Episode 77 and 78

  1. Thank you so much for the message you left in my cbox stranger! I like your screencaps. They’re very clear.

    Shun Shun is VERY cute. He has got to be one of the cutest TVB babies. Chan Hung Lit’s performance in that scene (the one where he was about to push Shun Shun into the streets) was amazing. BRAVO!
    But poor Shun Shun.. he died (in the series, lol touch wood!).

    • Yeah I find it amazing how he can keep his facial expression distorted while looking angry and conflicted and sad and guilty. But I’ve liked his acting pretty much since I watched him in War and Beauty so it’s not surprising that he pulled off his job so well.

      Sun Sun, I can never rave enough about him. It’s really sad for me to see him go, even if it’s just a plotline and it’s not real and things like that. I haven’t really seen real babies featured prominently in Tvb series, most of the time they use dolls and you can tell that they edited in shots of real babies later. Lol, I’m glad that they got a real baby actor for Sun Sun, he’s got to be the biggest heartbreaker in the series.

  2. Hey Chien! You never fail to make me chuckle whenever I read these summaries of yours!
    Chan Hung Lit was great in acting out as a patient who had a stroke, I don’t think he is THAT cold blooded, and I found it quite silly that Charlie Angels suddenly pooped out from nowhere and dashes towards Sungy preaching to him about how it felt like to be a mother and such etc etc. For once I felt that Terrence has a human side after all, that devastated look on his face when the Doc told him his half baby brother was gone. & It’s just too tragic that Shun Shun is gone.. he was so cute.. even on the car when he was had this painful crying look on his little cute face. ): It’s so sad that GOL is over too, I couldn’t really face it hehe.. After all we’ve been following this show for 4months.

    Btw, Isn’t Blossom up there ^ -carmen- from AF? She doesn’t know that you are chien from AF o_o ? LOL.

    • I felt it was all *too* convenient that Charlie shows up, and even more convenient that she’s pregnant. I mean, all of a sudden she’s like a role model or something. =.=

      I actually felt sorry for Terrence too. After hating on him for so long it feels weird to feel sorry for him. But I still think that killing Derek changed him (doesn’t erase the fact that he killed someone, sadly).

      Yeah it feels odd now that it’s over, but I’m still gonna do the recaps, and make myself relive the last moments of the series again heh. Because I’m silly like that.

      Hehe I know she’s carmen but her blog, but I don’t know if she knows I’m from AF too. 😀

  3. Hor Zit Seon or Sun Sun shouldn’t die. It was very sad and unfair for Sun Sun. The reason for his death was a little too much wishful-thinking. In this drama, Sun Sun cried more than he smiled. Sun Sun should have survived for his mother, Jessica as Jessica’s two elder sisters (I believe) have happy endings and they will be with the one they love in the end. Jessica have lost her husband and it’s (in my opinion) unlikely that she will remarry for the 3rd time in the movie. Please TVB, survive Sun Sun. In the Gala Event held for the casts of the movie, Sun Sun didn’t appear at all and it was disappointing. All in all, the Gem of life has reasonable ending except for the character of Sun Sun.

    • Unfortunately he didn’t. =( I mean, I disliked how they used Sun Sun as a plot device to drive Jessica over the edge. Losing Sun Sun mean losing everything that she’s fought for, so that changed her perspective and brought her back to her family. What she always had.

      I feel bad because it didn’t have to be like that, Jessica was capable of being human even without taking away Sun Sun, but I suppose Tvb was going for dramatic effect. =(

      Sun Sun wasn’t at the gala? That’s quite alright actually because he’s still a baby and he might be irritated at all the cameras flashing at him. Could be quite distressing for a baby really.

      • Yes, I am sure and I agree. It just got me as Sun Sun reminds me very much of my baby boy which is turning one soon. Even, they both look quite similar. The drama actually affected me a little as I hugged my son tightly through that night after I watched the whole 82 episodes the last week. I hope we can see more of Sun Sun in other TVB shows. Anyway – you have an interesting site and I enjoyed reading it. Great photos too.

Leave a Reply

